The state of Illinois has one of the strictest gun laws in the U.S. You require a Firearm Owners Identification Card (FOID) issued by the Illinois State Police to legally possess firearms or ammunition in Illinois.
Before delving any further, let us first understand what concealed carrying means. In simple terms, it refers to the act of carrying a firearm publicly in a manner that’s hidden from public view.
The state of Illinois has legislated a separate Act to lay down the guidelines and restrictions for carrying a concealed firearm. The Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66), enacted in 2013, requires a concealed carry license before a person can legally carry a concealed firearm.
Has your concealed carry license (CCL) in Illinois been revoked? Or are you a first-time applicant looking to obtain your concealed carry license as smoothly as possible? Navigating the laws and their associated processes can seem frustrating, but experienced attorneys from the Hirsch Law Group are here to help you!
You must apply for a Firearm Owners Identification Card if you want to legally carry a firearm in Illinois. To legally possess a gun in Illinois that can be carried in a concealed manner, you will need both a Firearm Owners Identification Card and a concealed carry license.
Violations of Illinois gun laws are severely punished. Possessing a gun without the required FOID is automatically classified as a Class A Misdemeanor. Check out our guide on first-time gun charges in Illinois to know more.
If you are a felon in possession of a firearm, you face a Class 3 felony.
Illinois is a “shall issue” state, meaning that it is incumbent upon the Illinois State Police to issue concealed carry licenses to applicants if they comply with all the requirements set out under the law. As per these requirements, the applicant must:
Be at least 21 years old.
Hold a valid FOID card.
Not have a prior conviction for a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence in the five (5) years preceding the date of the application.
Not have been convicted of two (2) or more driving under the influence of alcohol or other drug offenses within the last five (5) years preceding the date of the application.
Not have been subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding that could result in the disqualification to bear arms.
Not have been in a court-ordered or residential treatment for alcoholism or drug use within the last five (5) years preceding the date of the application.
Have completed the firearms training and any other educational requirements set out in the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
Completion of a 16-hour firearms training course is mandatory to get a concealed carry license. The courses must include instructions covering the following:
Basics of marksmanship
Loading and unloading a concealable firearm
Illinois laws relating to firearm ownership, carriage, storage, and transport of a loaded or unloaded handgun
Federal laws relating to carrying, owning, storing, and transporting a firearm
Weapon handling and qualification
Instructions on appropriate and lawful interaction with the law enforcement agency
For military personnel with active duty papers, the Illinois State Police accepts up to 8 hours of previously completed in-person training towards the 16-hour training requirement.
If you have complied with all the requirements listed above, then you’re ready to apply for a license! To apply, fill out the form prescribed by the Illinois State Police, attach supporting documents to your application, and pay the required fee.
After your application has been lodged, expect the state police to do a background check on you. This is to confirm your eligibility to obtain a license as per the state and federal laws.
Any concealed carry license holder under the Illinois Concealed Carry Act is permitted to carry a hidden firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, on or near their person in a wholly or partially concealed manner.
Even when you have successfully obtained a concealed carry license, Illinois law prohibits you from partaking in the following activities:
Carrying a concealed firearm when drunk.
Flashing your firearm.
Carrying a concealed firearm in prohibited areas under 430 ILCS 66/65. You are prohibited from carrying a firearm in all such areas, even with a concealed carry license or FOID. Prohibited areas include:
Schools (whether public or private)
Hospitals/mental health facilities (public or private)
A place where the property owner prohibits guns
Areas prohibited by federal law
Court buildings or any other buildings used for court procedures
Trains/buses or other means of public transport
Unfortunately, yes. The State Police must issue a concealed carry license if all requirements are complied with. However, they can still object to your application on the reasonable suspicion that you are a threat to public safety.
These objections are forwarded to the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board. Consequently, the Board reviews and makes the final decision on the matter.
Your concealed carry license is valid for five (5) years unless revoked earlier.
A conceal and carry license can be revoked if you are found to be ineligible for a FOID. For instance, you get convicted of a disqualifying offense. It may also be revoked if you no longer meet the requirements of your FOID.
If your license gets revoked, contact a skilled attorney from the Hirsch Law Group. We can help fight for your right to conceal carry a firearm.
If your application for a concealed carry license was denied or revoked, don’t fret. Our Chicago gun crime lawyers are here to thoroughly review your case and defend your rights. We can aggressively fight for your interests from day one. Contact us to schedule a free initial meeting today!