D.U.I. Charges: Misdemeanor and Felony Offenses

D.U.I. conviction can never be expunged in the State of Illinois. This means that every employer who requests and views you criminal record will know that you have been convicted of a criminal offense involving drunk or driving under the influence of drugs. A D.U.I. charge, for that reason alone, is very damaging to your reputation. Because a D.U.I. charge is so serious, it is critically important that your hire an aggressive DUI attorney who has experience litigating these types of cases against county prosecutors in the State of Illinois. HIRSCH LAW GROUP has litigated hundreds of D.U.I. cases in more than twelve counties throughout Illinois with success. Whether it be a finding of not guilty or a reduction of your charge to reckless driving, our goal is to fight your D.U.I. offense and secure a favorable outcome.

Contrary to what other lawyers may believe, D.U.I. trials are particularly sophisticated, at times involving the questioning of nurses, doctors and expert witnesses. An analysis of medical records, prescription drugs and other factors is necessary to a competent defense strategy. Knowing that D.U.I. cases can be complex, the attorneys at HIRSCH LAW GROUP attack each case differently and critically analyze the facts so that the best defense is presented to a judge or jury. If a case is not strong enough to proceed to trial, our attorneys negotiate favorable outcomes and have enjoyed success in mitigating the circumstances that face our clients.

If Convicted of a DUI In Illinois You Could Face:

  • First conviction – Up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500
  • Second conviction (within 5 years of the first conviction) – Minimum of 5 days in jail or 240 hours of community service. If a child under the age of 16 is involved these penalties could increase along with upgraded charges to a felony.
  • Third Conviction – Class 2 Felony – If your BAC is over 0.16% minimum of 90 days in jail if no aggravated factors are involved.
  • Fourth Conviction – Class 2 Felony (Within 5 years of a previous conviction) 3 – 7 Years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines
  • Fifth Conviction – Class 1 Felony – 4 – 15 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines
  • Sixth Conviction – Class X Felony – 6 – 30 years in prison and penalties are increased if BAC is over 0.16%

Commercial Drivers Facing DUI Charges

When you hold a commercial driver’s license, your livelihood could be at stake if facing DUI charges. This is why it is best to have an experienced commercial DUI attorney defending you and fighting your case. Any driver holding a commercial driver’s license convicted of a DUI will be disqualified from driving a commercial vehicle for a minimum of one year. If the driver was operating a commercial vehicle containing hazardous material at the time the DUI occurred, they will not be eligible for a commercial license for a minimum of three years. A second conviction of a DUI while holding a commercial drivers license will result in their CDL being revoked for life. 

Revoked Driver’s License

Upon the first conviction of a DUI you will lose your license for a minimum of one year. Reinstatement after one year is not guaranteed. If BAC is over 0.16% reinstatement can not be applied for until two years have passed. If convicted for a second DUI within 20 years of the first conviction, reinstatement can not be applied for until five years have passed. If a third conviction occurs within 20 years of a previous conviction, reinstatement can not be applied for until ten years have passed. Hardship licenses can be applied for when convicted of up to three DUI’s. Upon the fourth conviction you may not apply for reinstatement of your driver’s license.