A felon in possession of a firearm could face Class 3 felony charges which, if convicted, brings a sentence of 2-10 years in prison. If there are previous convictions, these charges could be upgraded to a Class 2 felony which carries a sentence of 3-14 years. If a convicted felon is caught in possession of a machine gun then they could be charged with a Class X felony that, if convicted, carries a sentence of 6-30 years in prison. If someone is facing an unlawful possession of a weapon charge while on parole could cause their charges to be upgraded to a Class 2 felony. If you are a convicted felon facing criminal charges for possession of a firearm then you will need a gun possession lawyer.

 

Discharge of a Firearm

 

Aggravated discharge of a firearm occurs when a gun is fired under circumstances that make the act unsafe. Firing in the direction of a group of people or at a person could cause a prosecutor to charge you with aggravated discharge of a firearm. Even if you did not intend to shoot at anyone specific it could be considered an aggravated charge if you shot in the general direction of where a person or people were located. Aggravated discharge of a firearm also comes into play if you have fired into a vehicle or building. Using a silencer can also lead to aggravated discharge of a firearm charges.

 

Charged with Felony Gun Charges?

 

HIRSCH LAW GROUP takes weapons charges seriously because the majority of the time they are felony criminal charges. First time gun charges can qualify for the first time gun offender program in Illinois if the offender meets specific criteria. if you are caught in Chicago or surrounding counties in possession of a gun with no FOID card or CCL, then you could be facing 1-3 years in prison on the first conviction.

 

Gun Possession Lawyer

 

Gun laws in Illinois can be hard to understand. Often, law abiding citizens can face misdemeanor or felony charges for failing to follow Illinois gun laws just because they are unaware of what those laws are. It is important for FOID card holders to understand Illinois gun laws thoroughly to avoid criminal charges.

For example, when transporting a gun, it needs to be unloaded and in an enclosed case. The transporter is required to have a valid FOID card on hand during the transportation. Gun crimes in Cook County have increased due to stricter laws. If you have been charged with criminal gun charges then you need an experienced gun lawyer to defend you. 

 

Protect Your Second Amendment Rights

 

If you have been denied a FOID or CCL (Carry and Conceal License) or it has been revoked then we might be able to help. Give us a call at (815) 473-3672