Many people that are issued tickets for Scott’s Law violations are unfamiliar with the correct procedures to follow when they encounter emergency vehicles. Our aggressive traffic ticket lawyers help minimize potential consequences of a Scott’s Law conviction and protect our client’s driving privilege’s

If you have been issued a violation for Scott’s Law or fail to yield to an emergency vehicle, contact HIRSCH LAW GROUP immediately.

Call us immediately if you have received a Scott’s Law violation or Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle ticket

Scott’s Law, also known as the “move over law” requires Illinois drivers to yield to the right-of-way by moving a full lane over not adjacent to the emergency vehicle. You must proceed with caution if changing lanes is unfit or not possible. This means reducing your speed and keeping a safe distance until you are able to pass the emergency vehicle. Very serious penalties under Illinois law for violations of Scott’s Law occurs.

Origin of Scott’s Law

In 2000, Lieutenant Scott Gillen, a Chicago fireman, was tragically killed on the Dan Ryan Expressway while responding to an accident. A speeding car tried to skip through traffic and struck Lieutenant Gillen while he was attending to motorists involved in the accident. Since then, many other similar accidents have occurred resulting in the death of emergency responders. This has prompted legislators, law enforcement and judges to take a tough stance on this issue. Scott’s Law was updated with enhanced penalties in 2019.

Fines from Scott’s Law Violations

  • First offense: $250 – $10,000 fine + $250 goes to the Scott’s Law Fund + court costs
  • Second offense: $750 – $10,000 + $250 goes to the Scott’s Law Find + court costs

Suspended License Under Scott’s Law

Any conviction is a Scott’s Law violation will be reported to the Sectary of State. If the incident that occurred resulted in property damage, death, or personal injury the following penalties will apply:

  • Property damage – suspended license for 90 days
  • Personal injury – suspended license for 180 days to 2 years
  • Death – suspended license for 2 years

Criminal Charges for Scott’s Law Violations

In general, Scott’s Law is considered a moving violation or traffic offense. If an accident occurs involving personal injury, property damage or a death occurs as the result of a Scott’s Law violation, then you could be facing criminal charges as follows:

  • Class A misdemeanor – punishable by up to 1 year in jail if there is damage to a vehicle
  • Class 4 felony – punishable by 1 – 3 years in prison if a personal injury or death occurred